The Asia Pacific Innovation Network was formed in January, 2010, to bring together scholars in the Asia Pacific region interested in the Legal, Managerial and Economic aspects of innovation. We plan to conduct regular workshops, conferences and events in the region focusing on research in innovation.

The founding members of AP-IN (2010) include a group of leading scholars in the Asia-Pacific region:

  • Reiko Aoki, Executive Vice-President and Professor, Kyushu University.
  • Peter Drahos, Director – Centre for the Governance of Knowledge and Development, Regulatory Institutions Network (RegNet), College of Asia and the Pacific, The Australian National University
  • Nisvan Erkal, Senior Lecturer, Department of Economics, University of Melbourne, and Research Associate, IPRIA, Australia.
  • Susy Frankel, Professor of Law, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
  • Joshua Gans, Professor of Information Economics, Melbourne Business School, University of Melbourne, Australia.
  • Cheng Huat Ho, Director, IP Academy Singapore.
  • Shou-Ling Jang, Professor and Director, College of Social Sciences, National Taiwan University, Taiwan.
  • Paul Jensen, Professorial Research Fellow, Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research and IPRIA, Australia.
  • Kwanghui Lim, Associate Professor at Melbourne Business School and Co-Director, IPRIA, Australia.
  • Owen Morgan, Senior Lecturer, The University of Auckland and Research Associate, Mira Szaszy Research Institute, New Zealand.
  • Sadao Nagaoka, Professor, Tokyo Keizai University, Japan.
  • Keunyeob Oh, Professor of International Economics, Chungnam National University, Korea.
  • Wee Loon Ng-Loy, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, National University of Singapore.
  • Ivan Png, Lim Kim San Professor, School of Business, and Professor of Information Systems and Economics, National University of Singapore.
  • Megan Richardson, Professor at University of Melbourne Law School, Associate Director of IPRIA and Deputy Director of the Centre for Media and Communications Law, The University of Melbourne.
  • Basil Sharp, Professor and Head of Department of Business & Economics, The University of Auckland, New Zealand.
  • Jasjit Singh, Assistant Professor, INSEAD, Singapore.
  • Beth Webster, Professorial Research Fellow, Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research and Director, IPRIA, Australia.
  • Ian Williamson, Professor of Human Resource Management, Melbourne Business School and Research Associate, IPRIA, Australia.
  • Poh Kam Wong, Professor, NUS Business School and Director, NUS Entrepreneurship Centre, National University of Singapore, Singapore.
  • Peter Yu, Kern Family Chair in Intellectual Property Law, Drake University, Law School, United States of America.

The founding president is Beth Webster, who led in organizing the Pacific Rim Innovation Conference 2010. The current President is Keun Lee (Korea). and Vice President, Show-ling Jang (Taiwan)

Organization in 2012

Management Committee (2012):

  • Cheng Huat Ho (Singapore)
  • Show-ling Jang (Taiwan) – Vice President
  • Keun Lee (Korea) – President
  • Owen Morgan (New Zealand)
  • Sadao Nagaoka (Japan)
  • Beth Webster (Australia)
  • Peter Yu (Hong Kong & USA)

Scientific Commitee (2012):

  • Keun Lee (Seoul National University; Center for Economic Catch-up)
  • Hwang Hee Cho (STEPI)
  • Kyung-Han Sohn (SungKyunKwan University; KIPS)
  • Jinyoung Kim (Korea University)
  • Jun-Byoung Oh (Inha University)
  • Beth Webster (University of Melbourne
  • Paul Jensen (University of Melbourne)
  • Cao Heping (University of Peking)
  • Wu Xiaobo (Zhejiang University)
  • Keunyeob Oh (Chungnam National University)
  • Sadao Nagaoka (Hitotsubashi University)
  • Reiko Aoki (Hitotsubashi University)
  • Susy Frankel (Wellington University)
  • Wee Loon Ng-Loy (NUS)
  • Cheng Huat Ho (IP Academy)
  • Show-Ling Jang (National University Taiwan)
  • Hui-Lin Lin (National University Taiwan)
  • Carsten Fink (WIPO)

Past Presidents

  • Beth Webster (Australia)
  • Sadao Nagaoka (Japan)


For enquiries, please contact info@ap-in.org.

For website issues contact Kwanghui Lim.